shop save smile

shop. save. smile.: Rice

Super 1 Foods | Posted Thursday, February 13, 2014 at 02:38PM

RiceRice provides 15 essential nutrients, including folic acid, iron and zinc, to more than half the world’s population. Rice is naturally sodium free, cholesterol free, trans fat free, saturated fat free and gluten free. Rice first arrived in America in the late 1680s when a group of sailors traded rice for repairs to their ship. Now, rice is planted on more than 2.7 million acres in America. Rice comes in a variety of shapes, sizes and colors.

Types of Rice

Long Grains: Long and slender kernels are categorized as long grain rice. Long grain rice stays separated when cooked and is fluffy, making it perfect for a side dish or a bed for your meal. Long grain rice is also good for soups and casseroles.

Medium Grain: Medium grain rice is not only shorter than long grain but also more tender and moist. Medium grain rice is perfect for a creamy dish.

Short Grain: Short grain rice is short and round. It’s chewy and tends to stick together, making it perfect for rice pudding.

White Rice vs. Brown Rice

White Rice: White rice lacks its germ and bran but is enriched with thiamin, niacin, iron and folic acid. One half cup of cooked rice serves as a serving of grain. The U.S. Dietary guidelines recommend, for a 2,000-calorie diet, 6 (1 ounce) servings of grains each day.

Brown Rice: Brown rice is considered a whole grain because the bran is still intact. The U.S. Dietary Guidelines recommend half of your grains should be whole grains. Brown rice has a chewier, nuttier flavor than white rice. It also takes brown rice twice as long to cook. Next time you’re making brown rice, make a double batch and refrigerate cooked rice for up to 5 days.

| Permalink | Print
Posted in: Health and Wellness, Shop. Save. Smile.


Brookshire's Brand